Douglas Allanbrook

(1921 - 2003)
Douglas Allanbrook was a composer, lyricist, pianist and arranger but also a master of the harpsichord. Born in 1921 in Melrose, Massachusetts, at an early age his aptitude for composing was already apparent. His compositions are smooth, showing astute sense, assertiveness, and originality. He studied with Nadia Boulanger in Boston before World War II, and later in Paris. During his formative years, his works showed influence of Boulanger and Stravinsky, both of whom he honored and admired. In 1951, he wrote Ethan Frome an opera about a forbidden love story. In 1955, he played its piano part for Aaron Copland at the Harvard Club. Allanbrook shelved his composition for 50 years when, later, with his son John acting as Director, the opera premiered at the Eliot House. He wrote seven symphonies for piano and harpsichord works. His compositions have been performed by orchestras across America and Europe, and commissioned by the National Symphony, the Baltimore Symphony, the Annapolis Brass Quintet, the Stuttgart Philharmonic.

Douglas Allanbrook Composition Timpani and Percussion Requirements

Four Orchestral Landscapes (Symphony No 3)

Timpani + 3 percussion + celeste
2 octaves crotales, glockenspiel, tubular bells, xylophone, bongos, clash cymbals, tam tam, triangle, wood block, whip, orchestral bass drum, snare drum, tambourine, celeste

Symphony No 5

Timpani + 1 percussion
Glockenspiel, triangle, 2 wood blocks

All composer images remain the copyright of their respective owners. Any use of images by this website is purely for educational purposes only and not commercial gain. If you wish for your image to be removed, please email us at and we will remove this as soon as possible