George Lloyd

(1913 - 1998)
George Walter Selwyn Lloyd (28 June 1913 – 3 July 1998) was a British composer. Lloyd's works include 12 symphonies and four piano concertos, two violin concertos and a cello concerto. For his three operas, Lloyd's father wrote the libretti. Lloyd also wrote four works for brass band: Royal Parks, Diversions on a Bass Theme, English Heritage and Kings Messenger. He wrote the official ship's march for the Royal Marine Band on HMS Trinidad, and later arranged the work for orchestra and for brass band. He also wrote a work for wind band: Forest of Arden. His choral-orchestral works include Pervigilium Veneris (The Vigil of Venus), A Litany and A Symphonic Mass. His chamber-works include music for solo and duet piano, brass quintet, and works for violin and piano.

George Lloyd Composition Timpani and Percussion Requirements

Symphony No. 9

Timpani + 4 percussion

Timpani: 32/30/28 or 32/29/26

Glockenspiel, Triangle, Suspended Cymbal, Snare Drum, Bass Drum, Tam-tam, Tubular Bells (Bb3, F#4, A, B, C#5, D#, F#) 2x Xylophones, Marimba

All composer images remain the copyright of their respective owners. Any use of images by this website is purely for educational purposes only and not commercial gain. If you wish for your image to be removed, please email us at and we will remove this as soon as possible