Heinz Karl Gruber

(b. 1943)
HK Gruber is the composer of the celebrated 'pandemonium' Frankenstein!! which has received hundreds of performances and broadcasts worldwide. His music refracts Viennese tradition, both in classical and popular, through contemporary lens. Gruber's works draw on the cabaret style of the Weimar Republic, often combined with irreverent black humour. He is much admired for concertos including two violin concertos for Ernst Kovacic, a Cello Concerto for Yo-Yo Ma and a trumpet concerto Aerial for Håkan Hardenberger. HK Gruber has appeared at many international festivals as featured composer, conductor, chansonnier, and music-theatre performer, including 2006 Lucerne Festival.

Heinz Karl Gruber Composition Timpani and Percussion Requirements


Timpani + 3 percussion
1) drum kit, 2 octaves crotales, Chinese tam tam, II) vibraphone, glockenspiel, xylorimba, III) marimba, xylorimba

Cello Concerto

No Timpani + 1 percussion
Marimba, vibraphone, xylorimba, glockenspiel, triangle, snare drum, orchestral bass drum, hi-hat

Frankenstein!! (ensemble version)

No Timpani + 1 percussion
2 octaves crotales, flexatone, 2 Javanese gongs, vibraphone, xylorimba, 2 bongos, 5 tom toms, hi-hat, suspended cowbell, 2 suspended cymbal, triangle,temple blocks, wood block, orchestral bass drum, snare drum, tambourine, sandpaper blocks

Rough Music

Solo percussion
Marimba, vibraphone, 2 suspended cymbals, 2 Chinese cymbals, hi hat, bongos, 5 tom toms, snare drum, large orchestral bass drum, pedal bass drum, 2 mounted vibraslaps, whip, 3 small cowbells, 3 large cowbells, almglocken Bb4 - C#6, mouth siren, mounted tambourine, 4 timpani (D3 - C4)

All composer images remain the copyright of their respective owners. Any use of images by this website is purely for educational purposes only and not commercial gain. If you wish for your image to be removed, please email us at and we will remove this as soon as possible