John Foulds

(1880 - 1939)
John Herbert Foulds (2 November 1880 – 25 April 1939) was a British composer of classical music. Largely self-taught as a composer, he was one of the most remarkable and unjustly forgotten figures of the "British Musical Renaissance". A successful composer of light music and theatre scores, his principal creative energies went into more ambitious and exploratory works that were particularly influenced by Indian music. Suffering a setback after the decline in popularity of his World Requiem (1919–1921), he left London for Paris in 1927, and eventually travelled to India in 1935 where, among other things, he collected folk music, composed pieces for traditional Indian instrument ensembles, and worked for a radio station. Foulds was an adventurous figure of great innate musicality and superb technical skill. Among his best works are Three Mantras for orchestra and wordless chorus (1919–1930), Essays in the Modes for piano (1920–1927), the piano concerto Dynamic Triptych (1927–1929), and his ninth string quartet Quartetto Intimo (1931–1932).

John Foulds Composition Timpani and Percussion Requirements

Keltic Suite

Timpani + 1 percussion
Triangle, clash cymbals, suspended cymbal, snare drum

La Belle Pierrette

Timpani + 2 percussion
Glockenspiel, triangle, clash cymbals, suspended cymbal, snare drum, tenor drum, orchestral bass drum

Suite Fantastique

Timpani + 2 percussion
Xylophone, triangle, tambourine, clash cymbals, suspended cymbal, orchestral bass drum

All composer images remain the copyright of their respective owners. Any use of images by this website is purely for educational purposes only and not commercial gain. If you wish for your image to be removed, please email us at and we will remove this as soon as possible