Outi Tarkiainen

(b. 1985)
Outi Tarkiainen was born in Finland in 1985. She studied composition at the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki and then at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama in London. In addition Tarkiainen also studied at the University of Miami. Her passion lies in that of choral and vocal composition but she has also composed for orchestra and solo instrumental. Tarkiainen enjoyed a successful collaboration with the Finnish vocalist Aili Ikonen with a series of jazz orchestral works the most notable of which “Into the Woodland Silence” composed in 2013. One of Tarkiainen’s major orchestral works is “The Earth, Spring’s Daughter” from 2015 which showed her compositional skill for a large ensemble. In 2016, Tarkiainen composed “Saivo”, a saxophone concerto for Jukka Perko, a piece of such quality it was nominated for the Nordic Council Music Prize in 2018.

Outi Tarkiainen Composition Timpani and Percussion Requirements


No Timpani  + 1 percussion
Ratchet, snare drum, orchestral bass drum, suspended cymbal, tam tam


No Timpani  + 2 percussion + celeste
Orchestral bass drum, 2 octaves crotales, glass wind chimes, large gong, marimba, suspended cymbal, medium tam tam, Thai gong F3, timpani, triangle, tubular bell F5, shell chimes, vobraphone, wood blocks 
Celeste - doubling bass drum beaters

The Earth, Spring's Daughter

No Timpani  + 1 percussion + celeste
Orchestral bass drum, medium gong, sand paper blocks, suspended cymbal, medium tam tam, timpani, triangle, crotales C4, C#4, F#4, G4, G#4, C5, vibraphone, waterphone, woodblocks
Celeste - doubling crotales F5 & B5, small gong, shell chimes, ratchet, medium tam tam, thunder sheet


All composer images remain the copyright of their respective owners. Any use of images by this website is purely for educational purposes only and not commercial gain. If you wish for your image to be removed, please email us at and we will remove this as soon as possible